Is Me Really Monster?

Cookie MonsterMe know. Me have problem.

Me love cookies. Me tend to get out of control when me see cookies. Me know it not natural to react so strongly to cookies, but me have weakness. Me know me do wrong. Me know it isn’t normal. Me see disapproving looks. Me see stares. Me hurt inside.

When me get back to apartment, after cookie binge, me can’t stand looking in mirror-fur matted with chocolate-chip smears and infested with crumbs. Me try but me never able to wash all of them out. Me don’t think me is monster. Me just furry blue person who love cookies too much. Me no ask for it. Me just born that way.

Me was thinking and me just don’t get it. Why is me a monster? No one else called monster on Sesame Street. Well, no one who isn’t really monster. Two-Headed Monster have two heads, so he real monster. Herry Monster strong and look angry, so he probably real monster, too. But is me really monster?

[…more at McSweeney’s…]

See also: Cookie’s interview for NPR’s In Character on All Things Considered

Explore posts in the same categories: Food, Literature

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Is Me Really Monster?”


Leave a Reply

